A Walk to Remember

I went back to the family home in Durham for a couple of days, before my big adventure into Nursing Management, so I could have a few words with the family about my plans for the future.

Before sitting down and explaining my big plans, I had to go out for a walk and gather my thoughts as to how I was going to approach the discussion (I am building it up aren’t I?!). After clearing the shite from the good, I had a plan of how I was going to show how passionate and adamant I was. This picture above, looking at my house in the distance, made me stop and realise how much I am going to miss this place. It also represents me as an outsider, looking over to the house where the rest of my family reside, and me, well, living somewhere else. When I went home, I sat down in the kitchen, after pouring a big glass of chilled Chablis (and one for the Mother and Father too), I explained to them that this was a massive decision to make, and one that is going to require the support and expertise of parents. By this point, I could tell dad was worried, and mum was concerned I was going to say, “Im gonna be a Dad!”…however, I ploughed on, and spluttered it all out. Once, I looked up from the table, after staring at it while talking for the past 10 minutes, trying to justify my plans, I could see them both smiling at me, and a warm glow came across which told me they would be there for me, Dad; “I believe in you, and if this is what you want to do, then go and do it”, Mum; “This has always been a dream of yours, so go and do it while you’re young and get all the experience you need”, Both; “We will support you one hundred percent”. How lovely!

So from this, i guess you can tell that I won’t be seeing my family home, or my family much for that matter, in the future. That’s right, I am planning to move away…

…TO LONDON BABY!! 🙂

It is still really early days, but I have started the huge monumental ball rolling by contacting the place for which I would love to (and have aspired for many years) to work…Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children. As many of you know, I am a children’s nurse, well, ready to qualify in March next year (5 months away!), and so I will need to find a place to live and a job to pay for it, and all the Starbuck that will be consumed! I have made other plans, that have just always fizzled out, or got forgotten about and never pursued but this one, I am extremely determined to make a reality, and very soon too! To work at GOSH would mean the absolute world to me, as I will be brought into contact with the most amazing children and families, having to adapt their lives to living with some of the most severe illnesses, diseases and conditions known. Working with such families, will enable me to gain an insight into these extraordinary attitudes and personalities which are necessary in order to make life a little more endurable. It would just be so rewarding and … amazing.

Things that I have to plan and consider:

  • The date that I am free to work from…after my graduation ball on the 16th March 2012
  • Getting down there from here! maybe my family will help me with that…?
  • Start date of the job I want…and if they will be lenient with me starting earlier or latter
  • Getting in nursing accommodation, as it is cheap, and I will be living with people who I work with, so will gain closer friends (hopefully)
  • …how long the contract runs…

I could go on, but the rest are minor issues that will hopefully iron out once there. 🙂 As you can maybe tell, I am MAJORLY excited at this move…however, there is one more absolute bonus to make sure I achieve this plan…my wonderful boyfriend Andrea (Italian male name as in Andrea Bocelli) will be moving over from Italy to start university in July. I CANNOT WAIT! 😀

So, that is all for now guys, I’ll keep you updated on any progress 🙂

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

